Musing Monday (26)

 Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading.  Each week we will get a fun reading related question to answer.  This week Musing asks:

Do you read the ending before you start a book? Do you ever skip ahead to read the ending?

This is a definite no.  I can’t ever bring myself to read the end before I actually get there.  I have to do everything in order and I can’t skip, and I can’t read the ending before it comes because then it will just ruin everything else for me.  People have ruined book for me before because of telling the ending.  I am the same way with movies and TV shows, I just can’t do it out of order.  I like to find out things and experience them as they happen.  Definitely no skipping or reading ahead for me!

10 Comments

Filed under Musing Mondays, Weekly Memes

10 responses to “Musing Monday (26)

  1. Haha. I often scope out the ending of a book if I am getting really stressed about, and worrying about the main characters. It’s not that I want to know the ending of the whole story, I just want to make sure the characters are okay. Does that make sense? I don’t do it with every book though. And I never did it with HP, or anything like that.

    • It definitely makes sense. I can’t tell you how many times I have stressed over the characters! I let myself be stressed though, lol. I just can’t bring myself to check ahead.

  2. My husband is the same way with movies and such!! I can have someone tell me something and it wont ruin it for me but it does take some of that oomph out of what I am reading / watching!

  3. There is one reason why I go to the ending, once in awhile. However, I always check to see how many pages are in the book, but I never read the ending in doing so.

  4. I’m like you and can’t imagine skipping to the end. But my daughter always sneaks a peek at the ending before she starts reading. I don’t know where she got that idea from!

    • I love to experience everything as it happens. If I know what is going to happen, I just don’t get the same effect. My cousin liked for me to tell her parts of the story it doesn’t bother her.

  5. I Like your answer. Order is important. Here is my post:
    MM

  6. I can’t bring myself to read the ending first, too afraid I might not the like the ending. *scaredy cat* lol…

    Jenea @ Books Live Forever

  7. Books are about the journey, not the end result! I don’t understand why people are anxious to learn the end of characters they haven’t even bothered to make connections with.

    Amber Elise @ Du Livre

Leave a comment