Waiting on Wednesday (40)

WaitingonWednesday Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week I am waiting on:

The Fairest of Them All Cover The Fairest of Them All
Carolyn Turgeon

Release 8-6-13

What if Rapunzel was Snow White’s evil stepmother? From the author of Godmother and MermaidThe Fairest of Them All explores what happens when fairy tale heroines grow up and don’t live happily ever after.Living in an enchanted forest, Rapunzel spends her days tending a mystical garden with her adoptive mother, Mathena. A witch, Mathena was banished from court because of her magic powers, though the women from the kingdom still seek her advice and herbal remedies. She waits, biding her time to exact revenge against those who betrayed her.One day Rapunzel’s beautiful voice and long golden locks captivate a young prince hunting in the forest nearby. Overcome, he climbs her hair up to her chamber and they fall into each other’s arms. But their afternoon of passion is fleeting, and the prince must return to his kingdom, as he is betrothed to another.Now king, he marries his intended to bring peace to his kingdom. They have a stunning daughter named Snow White. Yet the king is haunted by his memories of Rapunzel, and after the mysterious death of his wife, realizes he is free to marry the woman he never stopped longing for. In hopes of also replacing the mother of his beloved daughter, the king makes Rapunzel his queen.But when Mathena’s wedding gift of an ancient mirror begins speaking to her, Rapunzel falls under its evil spell, and the king begins to realize that Rapunzel is not the beautiful, kind woman he dreamed of.

Why I am Waiting:

This sounds like an interesting new twist on both Rapunzel and Snow White, combining the two in a unique new way.  Though I didn’t get to finish Mermaid (school got in the way), what I did read of it was beautifully written, so I really am looking forward to this book.  Plus, the cover is very lovely!  What are you Waiting on?

Vyki Signature Trans 2

10 Comments

Filed under Waiting on Wednesday, Weekly Memes

10 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday (40)

  1. I love Rapunzel and mixing that with Snow White is a unique twist. Kind of sad that it is about when fairy tale heroines grow up and don’t live happily ever after. I love happy endings so hopefully eventually there is one. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. This sounds like a pretty crazy (in a good way) read! And I do love that cover! 🙂

  3. Two of my favorite fairytales together, yes please! Great pick.

    Thanks for stopping mine. 🙂

    Jenea @ Books Live Forever’s WoW

  4. This does sound like such an interesting mash-up of two fairy tales. I’ll definitely be checking it out. Great pick! Thanks for stopping by mine!
    -Natalie @Natflix&Books

  5. Wow I love the crossover! It sounds like it should be really awesome! Thanks for sharing!

  6. I love fairytale retellings, so this story sounds fabulous! *adds to TBR list*

    Great wow choice!

  7. The cover is really lovely, and the plot sounds really interesting. And fairytale retellings are kind of my weakness, haha.
    My WOW post 🙂

  8. readerswonderland

    This one sounds crazy awesome! I love retellings! Thanks for stopping by my post!

  9. Ooh I’m all over fairytale retellings after loving Cinder and Scarlet and this sounds like a good one! I’ve added it to Goodreads 😀 thanks so much for highlighting it!

Leave a comment