*Review* Everblossom – Larissa Hinton

 Everblossom: A Short Story and Poetry Anthology

Larissa Hinton

53 pages

ASIN: B005H5GKIY

Format: E-book

Source: Author

Everblossom is a short anthology of stories and poetry that represent different stages of a flower (seed, bud, blossom).  The stories and poems are dark, light, realistic, fantasy, heartbreaking, disturbing and everything in between.

The stories are very diverse and I enjoyed them, though there were several typos throughout the book.  I enjoyed the writing style and felt it was very clear.  I have to say I enjoyed the poetry more than the stories, however.  I found the Words Speak Volumes poems were very intriguing and well written.  Almost every line was a single word that may or may not directly connect to the next word, but all together, it spelled out the entire story without having to include every word like a story.

I rated this book as a 4, though it was really almost a 4, but above a 3.5, so it’s real rating would have to be 3.75.  The stories still had me intrigued and left me wanting to know more about what was going to happen in the stories, so the author did well at keeping your attention and interest.

This book could fall under adult or young adult because of the subjects it goes over, though I wouldn’t suggest anyone 13 or younger read it because some of the harsher subjects.  All in all, I enjoyed it, but I wish it had been longer.

Diverse, dark in places, well-written, unique, a bit too short.

4 Comments

Filed under 4 Stars, Adult, Anthology/Short Stories, Fiction, Verse, Young Adult

4 responses to “*Review* Everblossom – Larissa Hinton

  1. Thanks for reviewing my anthology, Everblossom!

  2. J Gravity

    Sounds like a good read from your review. The comment of the typos made me smile. The hidden editor emerges.
    Another great review. Thanks for all your hard work!

Leave a comment