Let’s Talk (5): Books

Lets Talk Button

Originally hosted by Melissa from i swim for oceans, Smash & Kt took her original inspiration, and made it their own, expanding it to more than just books. Let’s get personal (but respectfully so) and learn more about one another!  Each week, a different question will be posted along with a place to link up your posts and visit other people’s responses. This meme is definitely meant to bring out conversation and meet new people. So, Let’s Talk!

Today’s Question:

How many books do you own (keepers) and how many are in your to-be-read pile?
Feel free to include pictures!

I own over 600 books!  I tell people I have a book buying sickness and I buy faster than I can read them.  Plus, I borrow from the library, too, so it seems my at home TBR shelves don’t go down near as fast as they should.  I still have all my childhood books like Goosebumps and Animorphs, too.  Since I just recently bought my own house, I am still trying to get my office/library area set up.  I am also bad about buying books that I see for good prices that I eventually want to read, so I buy them, even if it may be 10 years before I finally do read it.  I can’t even begin to tell you how many books are in my TBR stack!  Even some of my must-have-right-now books are still unread (bad me).  And once I do read them, even if I hated them, I just can’t bring myself to get rid of them, unless I am doing a giveaway.  I do giveaway all of my ARCs after I read them pretty much, but the books I have already had for a while I can’t.  I would really love to have my own personal library one day and I’d say 600+ books is a pretty good start!

Here are a couple of pics of the mess that currently is my office area.  There are also at least 3 more boxes of books that you can’t see in the corner.  All these books and only 1 lonely bookshelf.  After Christmas I will definitely be getting more (I want the walls lined with shelves).

Office 1Office 2

So what does everybody else’s piles of books look like?

Vyki Signature Trans 2

11 Comments

Filed under Let's Talk, Weekly Memes

11 responses to “Let’s Talk (5): Books

  1. I’m getting better about giving books away. I at least try to match them to people who really want to read the book. I just ran out of room to keep everything.

    I have shelves and boxes. It’s an illness!

  2. Holy cow, over 600 books! I have only recently started buying books regularly (recently as in this year), because I work in a library, so I get most of my books from there. But since I started blogging, I’ve started buying books more regularly. I have plans for a little nook off my kitchen that I want to line with bookshelves. That would be amazing!

  3. I can only dream of owning that many books. I have two living rooms, so the front one has become my room for all my books. We have shelves and a place for everything that goes with blogging. It’s my hideaway… 🙂

    Jenea @ Books Live Forever

  4. Wow… I didn’t even think about my kids childhood books. I even have some of mine. I refused to count mine for this meme because I thought it would be too embarrassing. At least now I know I’m in good company. 😉

  5. Animorphs!! I almost forgot about those! 🙂 After reading your post, I kind of regret donating all my childhood books. They weren’t being read anymore, and I wanted to make space for new things. So…I don’t own too many books now, and I have been going through my sisters’ bookshelves instead of buying new books. Good – I spend less money and I read things I might not normally have read on my own. Bad – there’s so many books I want to buy, though!

    • I am hoping that my kids will also want to read them and enjoy them like I did, plus I’m a bit of a hoarder, so I never got rid of them, haha. When I am extra broke, the library is my bookshop, but there really are sooo many books I want to buy!

  6. Book buying sickness! *giggles* We all have that! It’s contagious, too!

Leave a comment