Top Ten Tuesday (31)

Top Ten Tuesday Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted at The Broke and The Bookish.  Each week a new top ten list is posted, and to participate all you have to do is fill in YOUR top ten for the list.

This week the topic is:

Top Ten New to Me Authors in 2012

1. Gena ShowalterAlice in Zombieland was incredible and has some fantastic action scenes!  I can’t wait for the next one and I will be checking out her other books.

2. Katie McGarryPushing the Limits was an amazing debut and an emotional roller coaster.  This lady know how to tug the heartstrings!

3. Marissa Meyer:  By far Cinder was one of (if not the #1) my favorite reads for this year.  I was truly sucked into her debut and have been pining for the sequel ever since I closed the book.

4. Jodi Meadows Incarnate was another wonderful debut, and it was very unique with a very crush worthy guy!

5. Laini Taylor:  If you have read Daughter of Smoke and Bone, then you already know what I am talking about.  The characters and the world portayed in this book were amazing!

6. Stephanie Perkins:  This woman made me feel was it is like to fall in love for the first time all over again in Anna and the French Kiss and I will definitely be reading everything she writes.  Etienne St. Clair *happy sigh*

7. Tabitha Suzuma:  This author broke my heart in Forbidden and made such a taboo story into something incredibly beautiful.

8. Suzanne CollinsThe Hunger Games was such a great read and I didn’t want to put it down!

9. Ciye Cho: The world of Niemela in Florence was one of my favorite underwater worlds I have read about and the author describes it with such colorful vividness.

10. Gretchen McNeil:  I love how fast Ten read and it kept me guessing.  Any author that can do that has made my list of favorites 🙂

So who were your top faves for this year?

Vyki Signature Trans 2

12 Comments

Filed under Top Ten Tuesday, Weekly Memes

12 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday (31)

  1. Awesome line-up of authors! Suzuma, Perkins and Taylor are faves of mine, and I still need to get acquainted with Meadows and Showalter. Hope 2013 is another great reading year for you!

  2. My library finally got Stephanie Perkin’s books in, so I’m excited to read them! 🙂 My TTT list: http://aliceinreaderland.wordpress.com/2012/12/10/top-ten-favorite-new-to-me-authors-i-read-in-2012/

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

  3. Katie McGarry and Stephanie Perkins are both on my TTT list, too. I almost included Gena Showalter, too. I really liked Alice in Zombieland.

  4. Katie McGarry, Stephanie Perkins and Suzanne Collins made my list too. I almost put Ciye Cho on there, I LOVE his writing style. I’m definitely going to be reading Cinder next year too. Great list!

    My TTT

  5. Great list! Definitely have to check out some of your picks!
    -Beth

    YA Vixens Top Ten Tues!

  6. Cinder is on my TBR list. I cannot believe I forgot to put Katie McGarry on my list!! I loved Pushing the Limits so much.

    Thanks for stopping by Reading It All!
    Melissa

  7. I loved Anna and the French Kiss and Hunger Games too. Read them in 2011 and 2009-2012
    And while it wasn’t as brilliant as Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None, I still enjoyed Ten 🙂

  8. Hi!
    I LOOOVE Daughter of Smoke & Bone- DEF my favorite read of 2012! And Etienne is most definately swoon-worthy 🙂
    My TTT: http://nightmareonbookstreet.blogspot.com/2012/12/top-ten-tuesday-newbie-love.html

  9. I thought about putting Gena Showalter on my list, but ultimately went with some others instead. I still need to read Daughter of Smoke and Bone, as well as Pushing the Limits, but I’ve heard such fabulous things about them I can’t wait to dive in!

    My TTT post 🙂

  10. I was a little skeptical about reading Anna and the French Kiss because I wasn’t big on contemporaries, but that book made change my mind about the genre. I’ll also read any book that Stephanie Perkins writes. Thanks for stopping by!

  11. Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

    Suzanne Collins is new to me too and Katie McGarry. Both fantastic authors though!

    Lani Taylor and Jodi Meadows are too authors I’m dying to read. So I hope next year I’ll get around to those.

    Great list! 🙂

  12. I agree with the vividness of Ciye’s Florence.

    And I can’t wait to read Daughter of Smoke and Bone. I have a copy right here and the second book too. IT looks incredible.

Leave a comment